About the Library

Black Earth Public Library’s Mission Statement

The Black Earth Public Library and its staff provides inspiring programs, services, and materials for the community’s educational, informational, cultural, and recreational needs in a welcoming and respectful atmosphere.

Black Earth Public Library’s Vision Statement

The Black Earth Public Library provides opportunities for free and equitable access to learn, discover, create and connect.

Adopted October 16, 2018


Black Earth Public Library’s Board of Trustees Racial Equity Statement

Black Earth Public Library stands with those in Dane County, the state of Wisconsin, and throughout our country who share in the mission of building a community free of racism, hatred, and intolerance. Together, let’s challenge ourselves and each other to meet the moral imperative of confronting and dismantling systemic racism. We pledge to do our part to help our community recognize and celebrate diversity, inclusivity, and equity through literacy and educational programs.

Intellectual freedom is the cornerstone of democracy and public library service. Public libraries have a long history of being agents of social change. Black Earth Public Library is committed to being an organization which is fair, inclusive, and equitable for everyone. We will continue to grow and share resources, collections, and connections with the community that inspire conversations about timely topics. We hope you’ll join us in exploring how your public library can contribute to justice, equality, and equity.

December, 2020


Black Earth Public Library 2019 Survey Results

In working on the library's Strategic Plan, a survey was conducted in summer 2019.  The results of this survey are available here in this interactive "dashboard."


Black Earth Public Library's Strategic Plan Summary


Black Earth Public Library's Strategic Plan Environmental Scan 2020-2025


About the Library

The Black Earth Public Library, built in 1990, accounts for about 2,600 square feet in the Municipal Building on Mills Street. The library offers the community approximately 21,000 current Books, Magazines, Books on CD, Digital Audio Players, DVDs and Blu Ray DVDs and CDs, with access to the Wisconsin Digital Library also.

An interlibrary loan system allows Black Earth library users to also borrow materials not available locally from libraries in the South Central Library System and even from libraries anywhere in the United States. 

The library offers four computer workstations with current Windows operating systems and the Microsoft Office suite of programs.  WiFi is also available as is a black and white printer and photocopier for a charge of .10 per page.  Color photocopies are .25 per page.

Many digital resources are also offered through the library, such a wide range of e-books and e-audio books, Transparent Language (instruction in over 100 languages), Chilton's auto repair manuals, A-toZdatabases (a comprehensive search tool, of American businesses, "white pages" directory and even current job postings) and also Ancestry, for genealogical research.  New in 2020, Hoopla and Kanopy were added for streaming audio and video resources.

The library also offers hundreds of opportunities for children and adults to participate in library programs which are both educational and entertaining.  Please see our calendar for current events.

The library employs eleven staff members, is governed by a five-member Library Board and is a department of the Village of Black Earth.

Library Staff

Bailey Anderson, Library Director

Kirsten Rogers, Children's Librarian

Miles Varichak, Library Assistant

Donna Vought, Library Assistant

Michelle Zander, Circulation Manager

Maureen Frame, Substitute Library Assistant

Murilo Alves Zacareli, Substitute Library Assistant

Riley Lynch, Substitute Library Assistant

Felicity Crowe, Library Page

Brenna Schuetz, Library Page

Heidi Sherman, Library Page

Library Board

President - Gary Schuetz

Vice-President - Linda Colby

Secretary - Linda Colby

Treasurer - Gary Schuetz

Village Representative - Sarah Morrow

School Representative - Anne Moore

Trustee - Dylan Helmenstine